Frightened Rabbit’s already four-and-half minutes into the best album reviews of their career on the back of the expansively intimate lead single “Swim Until You Can’t See Land,” which landed complete with an appropriately simple yet stunning, flashlit video. The track’s 7″ release was just a placeholder for their forthcoming third LP, which now has a title that’s keeping up its end of the bargain for keeping things awesome: The Winter Of Mixed Drinks. Unfortunately it’s not out until March of 2010, but today’s session on Marc Riley’s BBC6 is a sufficient stopgap, Scott Hutchison and band delivering a three-song set featuring “Swim” and two others from Mixed Drinks: the plodding “Living In Colour” and the more-worthy super chunked college rocker “Nothing Like You,” both of which are here for you:

(H/T Peenko)

Head to BBC to hear the entire session, and Peenko to grab the live take on “Swim.” The Winter Of Mixed Drinks is out 3/1/10 via FatCat. The songs will read as follows:

01 “Things”
02 “Swim Until You Can’t See Land”
03 “The Loneliness & The Scream”
04 “The Wrestle”
05 “Skip The Youth”
06 “Nothing Like You”
07 “Man/Bag Of Sand”
08 “Foot Shooter”
09 “Not Miserable”
10 “Living In Colour”
11 “Yes I Would”

Comments (6)
  1. I know you are super excited for this album Amrit, gotta check these songs out live, insanely good. Catching them on the 22nd in Glasgow, where they will have the new member for one of the first times! There is also going to be an acoustic session of Scott Frabbit and Neil Meursault on Off The Beaten Tracks, soon I believe, keep your eyes peeled for that, cause it was an immense set!

  2. If the BBC sessions are any indication, these guys must sound really good live. Where they from anyway?

  3. Sounds good. Playing in Stirling tonight apparently. Like the sound of an acoustic session with Neil from Meursault too, they sounded good together live.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2