Cat Power – “Ruin”

Tom Breihan | June 18, 2012 - 12:33 pm

Chan Marshall hasn’t released a new Cat Power album since the 2008 covers collection Jukebox, but she’ll return to the game in September with the new LP Sun, an album that she recorded around the same time that she went through a bad breakup with the actor Giovanni Ribisi. The first single is “Ruin,” and it has unexpectedly Latin-tinged piano and a vocal way more sprightly than anything you’d expect to hear on a Cat Power breakup album. It’s a sharp, spacious, almost buoyant pop song about traveling the world, and we’ve got a download of it below, as well as the album’s tracklist.

Cat Power – “Ruin”

01 “Cherokee”
02 “Sun”
03 “Ruin”
04 “3,6,9”
05 “Always On My Own”
06 “Real Life”
07 “Human Being”
08 “Manhattan”
09 “Silent Machine”
10 “Nothin But Time”
11 “Peace And Love”
(via Pitchfork)

Sun is out 9/4 on Matador.

Tags: Cat Power