Titus Andronicus 2012

Hard to believe we’ve been listening to Titus Andronicus’s outstanding The Monitor for more than two years now. And yeah, the band has kept us (and themselves) occupied covering everyone from X-Ray Spex to Lana Del Rey, but that’s no substitute for a new album. Well, it appears that wait is very nearly over.

Today, the band announced they will release their third full-length, Local Business, on 10/23, via XL. We’ve already heard some tracks that will be included, such as “Ecce Homo,” “Still Life With Hot Deuce And Silver Platter” and “Upon Viewing Oregon’s Landscape With The Flood Of Detritus.”

Via press release:

While abandoning the linear narrative of their last album The Monitor, the songs on Local Business aim to make explicit the implications of the first two LPs, that the inherent meaninglessness of life in an absurd universe gives the individual power to create their own values and their own morality. Along the way, we witness a devastating automobile wreck, a food fight (that is to say, a battle with an eating disorder), an electrocution, a descent into insanity, and ultimately, a forgiveness of the self for its many faults. Titus Andronicus even finds time to broaden its emotional palette to include
moments of pure positivity, brief respites from the usual doom and gloom.

The band, now minus Amy Klein, comprises Patrick Stickles (singer/songwriter/guitarist), Eric Harm (drums), Julian Veronesi (bass), Liam Betson (guitar), and Adam Reich (guitar). Owen Pallett appears on the LP as well. Tour dates will follow. For now, here’s the tracklist:

01 “Ecce Homo”
02 “Still Life With Hot Deuce And Silver Platter”
03 “Upon Viewing Oregon’s Landscape With The Flood Of Detritus”
04 “Food Fight!”
05 “My Eating Disorder”
06 “Titus Andronicus VS. The Absurd Universe (3rd Round KO)”
07 “In A Big City”
08 “In A Small Body”
09 “(I Am The) Electric Man”
10 “Tried To Quit Smoking”

Comments (7)
  1. This is totally out of left field for me, I’ve gotta pull my head out of my ass I didn’t know new songs were out there. Best music year ever…


  2. Excellent news. The end of the year just got exciting!

  3. I was just thinking to myself this morning about how I’ve been listening to The Monitor for close to two years, pretty close to every day for at least 4 months, and I still can’t hit skip when “A More Perfect Union” comes on shuffle. I don’t know how many singles I can say that about.

    • Sometimes when Shut Up, Dude comes out I listen to “Theme from Cheers” and pretend all you guys are in my basement drinking beers with me.

  4. oh dudes my friday just turned into, like, a really good friday

  5. After the Monitor came out, I really wondered what they could possibly do to top it. I don’t know whether this will be better or not, but as much as I love the Monitor (maybe because I love the Monitor) I’m glad they’re going back to a straightforward 10 track rock album instead of doing another concept. Keep making great music and let the Monitor stand as an achievement on its own.

  6. I guess my hopes that it was just going to be Patrick covering Lana Del Rey songs in his parent’s dining room just got crushed…

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2