Wavves - Afraid Of Heights

A little while back, Wavves announced an impending new album and shared the track “Sail To The Sun.” And now we know a few more things about the LP: It’s called Afraid Of Heights, the duo made it with producer John Hill, and frontman Nathan Williams says that, “The general theme of the record is depression and anxiety, being death-obsessed and paranoid of impending doom.” He’s also let us hear the new song “Demon To Lean On,” a snottily catchy bit of bubblegrunge that would’ve been all over alt-rock radio in, say, 1995. That transition from the bridge to the last chorus is absolutely killer; this guy is becoming better at the whole pop-songwriting thing all the time. Listen to the song and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Sail To The Sun”
02 “Demon To Lean On”
03 “Mystic”
04 “Lunge Forward”
05 “Dog”
06 “Afraid Of Heights”
07 “Paranoid”
08 “Cop”
09 “Beat Me Up”
10 “Everything Is My Fault”
11 “That’s On Me”
12 “Gimme A Knife”
13 “I Can’t Dream”
14 “Hippies Is Punks” (iTunes bonus track)

Afraid Of Heights is out 3/26 on Mom + Pop.

Comments (4)
  1. I’m going to get cheered for this (probably) but I feel like this transition in his songwriting has quite a bit to do with his relationship with Bethany. The verses of this song are just like those all over both Best Coast albums. If this is the case, it was a good influencing force because this is a very good song. Excited for this album.

  2. Oh, new Wavves song!! Didn’t realize they started putting commercials in songs now.

    Stereogum: Why do you have audio advertisements? Ruins the first listen!

  3. Sounds like a poppy Nirvana song. I’m super into it.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2