Kurt Vile - Wakin On A Pretty Daze

He’d already released three relatively lo-fi solo albums, but stoned Philly strummer Kurt Vile’s 2011 album Smoke Rings For My Halo felt like a new beginning — the moment that Vile’s starry-eyed ebb-and-flow roadtrip-rock hit its stride completely. And now he’s announced its follow-up, a new collection called Wakin On A Pretty Daze, set to arrive this spring. “Wakin On A Pretty Day,” the album’s almost-title track and opener, is a gorgeously loose nine-minute sprawl that expands on the previous album’s time-bending warmth. Download it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Wakin On A Pretty Day”
02 “KV Crimes”
03 “Was All Talk”
04 “Girl Called Alex”
05 “Never Run Away”
06 “Pure Pain”
07 “Too Hard”
08 “Shame Chamber”
09 “Snowflakes Are Dancing”
10 “Air Bud”
11 “Goldtone”
(via Pitchfork)

Wakin On A Pretty Daze is out 4/9 on Matador.

Comments (9)
  1. YESSSSS!!!!!

  2. My Monday just got a whole lot better with Futurebirds and now some Kurt Vile!

    Nothing like some new truly good music after being reminded once again that a lot of crap fills the airwaves and ends up on the Grammy’s.

  3. I don’t see how a song titled “Air Bud” could be anything but the greatest song of all time.

    • That scene where he puts down yogurt and yells at “Buddy” to runaway still haunts me. Just like at the end of Homeward Bound where you’re not sure if Shadow is going to return. It’s still pretty good though it’s only Post-Benji / Post-Old Yeller kind of shit.

  4. This is an incredibly good track, even for Kurt’s high standards.

  5. Damn, who knew a mellow little tune with like a 4 minute long guitar solo could be so awesome?

  6. I’m sorry, but if this song doesn’t make you loath winter right now, you don’t have a pulse.

    Kurt is King.

  7. I feel bad for every musician that isn’t named Kurt Vile right now.

  8. Am I hearing some Adam Granduciel on this track too? Sounds like it easily could fit onto a War on Drugs album.

    I am very excited for this album. Vinyl already pre-ordered.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2