After a four year pseudo-hiatus, Trent Reznor has announced that Nine Inch Nails are back and will be touring in 2013 and 2014 as a reinvented outfit. The new band will include NIN alums Alessandro Cortini and Ilan Rubin, Jane’s Addiction’s Eric Avery, King Crimson’s Adrian Belew, and techno band Telefon Tel Aviv’s Josh Eustis. Read a statement on the return from Reznor below and our Deconstructing about his legacy here.

I was working with Adrian Belew on some musical ideas, which led to some discussion on performing, which led to some beard-scratching, which (many steps later) led to the decision to re-think the idea of what Nine Inch Nails could be, and the idea of playing a show. Calls were made to some friends, lots of new ideas were discussed, and a show was booked – which led to another, which somehow led to a lot of shows.

The band is reinventing itself from scratch and will be comprised of Eric Avery, Adrian Belew, Alessandro Cortini, Josh Eustis, Ilan Rubin, and me. The first shows will begin this summer, followed by a full-on arena tour of the US this fall, and lots of other dates worldwide to follow through 2014.

Lots of details and dates to come. See you soon.


Reznor’s other project How to destroy angels_ will release their debut full-length Welcome oblivion on 3/5 via Columbia Records.

Comments (4)
  1. This lineup should prove interesting

  2. lineup looks great

    adrian belew is fucking nuts; he’s also played with bowie, zappa, and talking heads

    this video of him playing with the heads in 1980 is awesome

  3. I want a NIN cover of Oh, Daddy…..stat.

  4. That’s such great news! Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2