Califone - Stitches

Califone, the experimental Chicago roots-rock band, haven’t released an album since 2009′s All My Friends Are Funeral Singers, but they’re back this fall with a new one called Stitches. For the first time, the band left Chicago to record the LP, hitting various studios around the American southwest instead. (They even recorded in Arizona, home state of Calexico, the band I always confuse Califone with.) The album’s title track is a bummed-out downbeat drone that should sound pretty great on long road trips. Listen to it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Movie Music Kills A Kiss”
02 “Stitches”
03 “Frosted Tips”
04 “Magdalene”
05 “Bells Break Arms”
06 “moonbath.brainsalt.a.holy.fool”
07 “Moses”
08 “A Thin Skin Of Bullfight Dust”
09 “We Are A Payphone”
10 “turtle eggs/an optimist”
(via Pitchfork)

Stitches is out 9/3 on Dead Oceans. Shout out to any band willing to release a song called “Frosted Tips” in 2013.

Comments (1)
  1. Great track — nothing like Califone to soundtrack the fall season!

    What an incredible year this has been (and is likely going to be) for new music. I wonder if all these bands know something we don’t, like maybe the world is going to end. If the Wrens get their new stuff done before December 31, I think that will confirm it.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2