Kurt Cobain & Peter Gabriel

Rolling Stone has revealed next year’s inductees into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame: Nirvana, Kiss, Peter Gabriel, Hall & Oates, Cat Stevens, and Linda Ronstadt.

The E Street Band will get the Award For Musical Excellence while Beatles manager Brian Epstein and Rolling Stones manager Andrew Loog Oldham will both receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

You’ll remember from this year’s list of nominees that this means the Replacements, Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Chic, N.W.A., LL Cool J, the Zombies, Deep Purple, Link Wray, the Meters, and Yes were all passed over.

It was Nirvana’s first year of eligibility and Kiss’ 15th. Gabriel, who was inducted with Genesis in 2010 but did not attend the ceremony, tells RS this time he’ll go.

The induction ceremony takes place 4/10/14 at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center and tickets will be available to the public.

UPDATE: Krist Novoselic and Dave Grohl have shared these statements:

“This is a great honor. Thank you to the people who nominated and voted for us. Thank you most of all to Kurt Cobain. And to everyone who’s kept Rock music going strong for 60 years and counting.” -Krist Novoselic

“For once… I’m speechless. From the basements, to the dingy clubs, to the broken down vans, to… the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. I’d like to thank the committee not only for this induction, but also for recognizing Nirvana for what we were: pure rock and roll. Most of all, thank you to all of the fans that have supported rock and roll throughout the years, and to Kurt and Krist, without whom I would not be here today.” -Dave Grohl

Comments (9)
  1. It’ll be almost 20 years to the day. Kurt went by the Ziggy Stardust Five Years plan.

  2. Very excited for Nirvana’s induction, well deserved but also a bit inevitable. Wish the committee would’ve taken some bigger risks and a chance to make some sort of cultural impact by inducting The Replacements and N.W.A. Maybe next time…

  3. I’m glad the E Street Band is finally being recognized but they need to be inducted not just receiving an award.

  4. Pretty sure NWA will make it in eventually. They’re too big, and their success hardly makes them a ricky chance.

    The Replacements get put in the same pile as the Pixies, the Cure, the Smiths, Joy DIvision / New Order, Depeche Mode, Kraftwerk, etc, as “bands who we should be embarrassed not to be included but the HOF is a bunch of old people with ‘WWGMD?’ wristbands” (What Would Greil Marcus Do?) Those whiny fey indie rockers can just kiss John Cougar Melloncamp’s ass.

  5. please please please no paul mccartney/dave grohl/krist novoselic/pat smear performance this time around, please no

  6. The E Street Band is being inducted–the Award For Musical Excellence is a special category for artists/bands who have performed in a supporting capacity. The category was formerly known as “Sidemen.”


  7. Teenage angst has paid off well, now we’re bored and old.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2