Hot Chip

Last year, David Byrne’s label, Luaka Bop, released a compilation of the African synth-based music made by William Onyeabor in the late ’70s and early ’80s. Since then, the music world has focused on the reclusive musician more than ever. There’s been a short documentary, a massive concert, and now for Record Store Day: a compilation of remixes and covers of Onyeabar’s music. Today Hot Chip have shared their version of his 1978 song “Atomic Bomb,” which you can listen to below while you check out the full tracklist.

WHAT?! – William Onyeabor Remixed Tracklist:
01. Hot Chip: “Atomic Bomb” (Cover)
02. The Vaccines: “Do You Want A Man” (John Hill, Rich Costey Remix)
03. Justin Strauss & Bryan Mette: “Body and Soul” [Whatever/Whatever Remix]
04. Joakim: “Good Name” (Cover) [ft. Akwetey]
05. JD Twitch (Optimo): “Why Go To War?” (Cover)
06. Daphni: “Ye Ye” (Remix)
07. Javelin: “Heaven and Hell” (Remix)
08. David Terranova: “Body and Soul” (Remix)
09. Policy: “Something You Will Never Forget” (Remix)
10. Scientist: “Body and Soul” (Remix)

WHAT?! – William Onyeabor Remixed is out 4/19, Record Store Day, via Luaka Bop.

Comments (1)
  1. Just a note, I’ve seen this in a few places and I think one of the tracklist items is misleading. The Daphni track, “Ye Ye,” is not a new remix, it’s from his album Jialong, and it’s included here because it samples Onyeabor’s “When the Going is Smooth and Good.”

    Also, this Hot Chip cover is really good.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2