Spoon - They Want My Soul

We’ve seen a trio of teaser videos, read about the new record label, and witnessed the live debuts of “Rainy Taxi,” “Knock Knock Knock,” and “Rent I Pay.” Now, at last, the first studio recording from Spoon’s new They Want My Soul has been revealed, along with the album’s tracklist. As promised, “Rent I Pay” is online today. Stream it below.

That’s the cover art up top. And this is the tracklist:

01 “Rent I Pay”
02 “Inside Out”
03 “Rainy Taxi”
04 “Do You”
05 “Knock Knock Knock”
06 “Outlier”
07 “They Want My Soul”
08 “I Just Don’t Understand”
09 “Let Me Be Mine”
10 “New York Kiss”

They Want My Soul is out 8/5 on Loma Vista. Pre-order it at iTunes.

UPDATE: The band has shared this additional, promising info via Facebook:

The album was recorded this past winter, mostly at Public HiFi in Austin and Tarbox in Cassadaga, NY. It was the first time we’ve had the chance to work with Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, MGMT, Creaming Jesus) and we’re pretty sure that the levels indicate this to be our loudest record — it’s also Deux Deux’s favorite. What else…Side One begins with the gnarliest Jim Eno drum sound ever recorded and Side Two ends with Rob Pope’s bass amp completely breaking down to fuzz + hiss at the end of a take. The record’s got beats, whispers, chants, guitars, whistles, secret codes, and horror-movie strings. It’s got songs about holy rollers, back masking, real life properties of physics, love during the apocalypse and a brief reappearance of Jonathon Fisk.

Comments (21)
  1. that’s going to bring a few houses down live.

  2. I have to say I was kinda upset to see Interpol was getting more hype for their new album announcement vs Spoon’s even though Interpol hasn’t put out a good album in 10 years while Spoon has been churning out great albums consistently.

  3. Damn this is so great!!

  4. Pretty good song, can’t wait to hear the rest. Cool album artwork too, nice and simple as usual.

  5. Something tells me that is Britt’s hand with fake nails.

  6. fuck yeah this rules

  7. am i the only one that is less than impressed with this track?

  8. And I hear that can’t be wrong

  9. sounds like another great Soon track can’t wait

  10. Britt D. never disappoints.

  11. i mean, i love this band, own all their albums, seen em live a couple times.. this song is just kinda bland though. there was part of a cool, new wavey sounding song in the video they put out to promote their tour, i guess i was just hoping this album would be a little bit more unique. but this just sounds like an out take off of a series of sneaks.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2