The music made by the long-running French duo Air always sounded like it was meant to soundtrack something — and often, it was soundtracking something. Now the duo has composed a series of ambient recordings inspired by artwork in the Palais De Beaux Arts De Lille. Music For Museum (in a nice reference to Eno’s ambient classic Music For Airports) will play on speakers in one section of the museum, and is specifically inspired by four contemporary artists showing work there now: Linda Bujoli, Mathias Kiss, Xavier Veilhan, and Yi Zhou. You can pick up the vinyl-only release here via The Vinyl Factory, and read the track list below.

Side A
01. “Land Me” (8.13)
02. “Reverse Bubble” (7.21)

Side B
03. “The Dream Of Yi” (5.27)
04. “Angel Palace” (10.42)

Side C
05. “Art Tatoo” (15.46)
06. “Vulcano Kiss” (10.43)

Side D
07. “Integration Desintegration” (8.42)
08. “Octogum” (4.50)
09. “North Cloud” (4.23)

Comments (2)
  1. Stumbled on this last night and didn’t even know they were doing this. My best friend’s favorite band is AIR and I think he knew they were doing this, but not releasing it.

    Considering “Le voyage dans la lune” was only 32 minutes, 77 minutes of AIR ambiance is incredibly welcome. Looks like it’s just a little too big to fit on a CD. Most of my favorite AIR tracks have been instrumental anyway (“Night Hunter” / “Mer du Japon” / “Alone In Kyoto” / “La femme d’argent” [the best] ) that an entire instrumental album is incredibly welcome.

    Although they still need to release a new album, “Music for Museum” will buy them some time for this fan.

  2. BOUGHT. Thank God for pay day.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2