Sun Kil Moon - "Australian Winter"

The last time we checked in with onetime Red House Painter Mark Kozelek he was covering Hüsker Dü’s “Celebrated Summer” under his own name. He’s re-affixed monikers for Admiral Fell Promises, Sun Kil Moon’s fourth collection, the third of original material. As far as firsts, it’s the only one to date that’s completely acoustic, just Kozelek and a nylon string guitar. “Australian Winter” feels especially chilly for that and other reasons.

Admiral Fell Promises:

01 “Alesund”
02 “Half Moon Bay”
03 “Sam Wong Hotel”
04 “Third And Seneca”
05 “You Are My Sun”
06 “Admiral Fell Promises”
07 “The Leaning Tree”
08 “Australian Winter”
09 “Church Of The Pines”
10 “Bay of Skulls”

Admiral Fell Promises is out 7/13 via Caldo Verde. The vinyl version comes with liner notes and two bonus tracks of songs recorded live in France. Also, purchases made directly via Caldo Verde receive a free 4-song EP I’ll Be There that includes an alternate take of Admiral’s “Third And Seneca” and covers of Stereolab, Casiotone For The Painfully Alone, and the Jackson 5. That tracklist:

01 “Third And Seneca (Alternate Version)”
02 “Tomorrow Is Already Here”
03 “Natural Light”
04 “I’ll Be There”

Kozelek’s doing solo acoustic shows this summer:

07/26 - Brooklyn, NY @ The Music Hall of Williamsburg
07/29 – London, UK @Union Chapel
07/31 – Giske, Norway @ Sommerfesten

Comments (2)
  1. JAWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111111111

  2. That’s amazing. I have a deep love for celtic music, and this really pulls from the ancient traditions of the celtic folk ballad.. he’s both reverent of the history, and at the same time, building on it with modern verse and modern compositional ideas.. simple, brilliant. Paul Brady would be proud.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2