S. Carey PR

Justin Vernon remains Bon Iver’s main focus, so you probably wouldn’t notice he has very capable backing with Sean Carey, who plays drums and piano for Vernon’s live shows. Carey has his own record coming out on Jagjaguwar. The first taste from it is impressive — it uses subtle (but rich) percussion and repetition over its five minutes and feels like a journey. The middle section is particularly pretty. It sounds a touch like Sufjan Stevens’s “The Predatory Wasp of the Palisades Is Out to Get Us!,” though Carey’s own voice (in slightly staggered layers) sets it apart.

All We Grow is out 8/24 via Jagjaguwar. Here’s the tracklist:

01 “Move”
02 “We Fell”
03 “In the Dirt”
04 “Rothko Fields”
05 “Mothers”
06 “Action”
07 “In the Stream”
08 “All We Grow”
09 “Broken”

Tags: ,  
Comments (2)
  1. I’ve been waiting for him to release some solo material ever since seeing Bon Iver last year. So excited for this.

  2. This is incredibly gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2