The genre-splicing, conceptual-mindfuck maelstrom that is Battles first full-length will finally see release late next month, though good web trolls like yourselves have already seen the stellar, Mirrored vid for their kick-ass “Atlas”…

Much as we love the more challenging stuff on this album (“Race:In” to “Atlas” may be the most ambitiously gratifying one-two album opener of ’07), the track we have for ya comes as a stop for breath on the tracklist, a relatively static, metronomic groove-based workout, welding quirky filtered vox to Battles deep-pocket funk.

From there it’s back to the math, though, with the progged-up slammer “Rainbow.” If you can’t tell, we love these guys. The avant rockers’ opus Mirrored is out 5/22 on Warp. After the jump, behind the scenes of the “Atlas” video.

Comments (11)
  1. salllll  |   Posted on Apr 25th, 2007 0

    they seem aggressive . i want them to smile.

  2. pearl  |   Posted on Apr 25th, 2007 0

    i like this album. especially ddiamondd. i also like the guy in the pink.

  3. Erik  |   Posted on Apr 25th, 2007 0

    These guys are kickass

  4. smashing  |   Posted on Apr 26th, 2007 0

    Personally, I prefer their earlier ep’s. Mirrored is…not as good. Much less experimental crazy goodness.

  5. slashdotter  |   Posted on Apr 26th, 2007 0

    I for one accept…wait a sec, what the fuck is this mickey mouse shit?

  6. Zayin_451  |   Posted on Apr 26th, 2007 0

    They remind me a lot of Menomena. Different, I know, but really a similar sort of ‘live music version of techno’.

  7. slashdotter  |   Posted on Apr 26th, 2007 0

    Weird weird weird…

  8. Tyondai Braxton is taking cues from his sister and Dan Deacon. I love it. See it live before you criticize.

  9. chris  |   Posted on Apr 26th, 2007 0

    that song was stupid! Why is he pitch shifting his voice like that?? they are amazing live, but I would never want to sit down and listen to them.

  10. You can hear a mashup of this vs a ted leo b-side (rappaport’s testament) on this mix I did a few weeks ago:

    full tracklist:

  11. matt  |   Posted on Apr 26th, 2007 0

    live they are stupendous. anyone else see them at the bowery a couple weeks ago? ridiculous good time.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2