Morbid Angel - Illud Divinum Insanus

It’s not clear, though fans seem to be thinking in especially critical (and pissy) terms about the Tampa crew. If you’re interested in “extreme” metal, you know David Vincent rejoined the death metal legends after Heretic and that the band’s about to release its eighth album Illud Divinum Insanus, their first that 2003 Steve Tucker swansong and the first with Vincent since 1995′s Domination. (For now, Tucker fans can make do with Nader Sadek’s In the Flesh). It’s also the first to date without drummer Pete Sandoval, whose back surgery kept him out of the production (Hate Eternal drummer Tim Yeung filled in). But hey, Trey Azagthoth’s there. Along with Thor Anders Myhren/Destructhor, who joined as a touring guitarist in 2008. Before we’d heard any Illud, folks were crapping on the above artwork (understandably) and making punchlines for the below press photo (well…). Then came the music, the straightforward “Existo Vulgore” and “Nevermore,” a song that appears on a single with its own Combichrist dance mix. (Outside that, unreleased tracks like “Too Extreme!” have a weirdly industrial vibe. I wasn’t joking when I said Illud reminded me, at times, of Pigface.) All said, I’m still listening to an un-beeped version of the record on repeat, keeping an open mind, and unpacking the aesthetic/sonic shifts. I’m not doing very well. Do know this: If you’re looking for a return to Altars Of Madness and Bless Are The Sick (or personal favorite, the Tucker-led Formulas Fatal To The Flesh), you will still be looking. If you’re on the ropes, or somehow missed the new material, check out “Existo Vulgoré” and “Nevermore” in quick succession and see if things get any less tangled.

“Nevermore”’s streaming at Decibel.

Illud Divinum Insanus :

01 “Omni Potens”
02 “Too Extreme!”
03 “Existo Vulgoré”
04 “Blades for Baal”
05 “I Am Morbid”
06 “10 More Dead”
07 “Destructos VS the Earth / Attack”
08 “Nevermore”
09 “Beauty Meets Beast”
10 “Radikult”
11 “Profundis – Mea Culpa”

Illud Divinum Insanus is out 6/7 via Season Of Mist. If you click on that link, you’ll note it can be pre-ordered now.

Morbid Angel 2011
[Band photo by Alex Solca]

Comments (7)
  1. LOL. Their press release photo needs more spikes and black-eyeliner.

  2. guy on the left looks like Terry Goodkind

  3. also I haven’t listened to a bit of this yet, but I have to say that Combichrist remixes are a no, but sounding like Pigface are a definite yes

  4. Place you favorite drum track/sound in here _______________________________!

  5. Fuck David Vincent. White-supremacist freak.

  6. Wow, they almost look like a Glam Metal band in that press shot…..

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2