Seattle BTW Helvetia, aka Swiss transplant Jason Albertini, releases Helvetia’s Junk Shop on 9/15 via Static Cult. The lineup for the album included Scott Plouf (Built To Spill, Spinanes) on drums and Clay Parton on bass. Albertini did the rest, including listening to Meat Puppets II, Sleep’s Holy Mountain, and Bedhead’s Beheaded. In this week’s ’Drop, we premiered the set’s opener, “Leading Towards An End.” Have a listen and read our interview with Jason here.

This week we’re also giving away a boatload of Beach Boys music. One winner gets the Beach Boys’ US Singles Collection Box, featuring recreations of the first 16 singles of the band’s catalog, covering the early years of 1962 through 1965. The discs are housed in accurate reproductions of the original sleeves and labels and packaged in, to quote, a “board-wrapped, telescoping box featuring a retro chrome appliance sticker, and a variety of textures including gloss and rubber coatings, inlaid wood veneer and a foil stamp.” While you listen, you’ll be able to page through the 48-page photo book (complete with eight vellum pages). Here:

The winner also gets Beach Boys’ new 20-track best of collection Summer Love Songs, which includes a rare song from Dennis Wilson and six new stereo mixes. It’s out via Capitol/EMI. The Wilson song is “Fallin’ In Love,” written and recorded during the 1970 Sunflower sessions. It’s previously unreleased in the U.S. and remains out of print in the UK, where it was released under the title “Lady.” Stream it here. The complete tracklist:

01 “Don’t Worry, Baby” [Stereo mix from analog multi-track master]
02 “Why Do Fools Fall In Love” [Stereo mix from analog multi-track master]
03 “Wouldn’t It Be Nice”
04 “God Only Knows”
05 “Surfer Girl”
06 “California Girls”
07 “Please Let Me Wonder”
08 “In The Parkin’ Lot”
09 “Your Summer Dream”
10 “Kiss Me, Baby”
11 “Hushabye” [new stereo mix]
12 “I’m So Young” [new stereo mix]
13 “Good To My Baby” [new stereo mix]
14 “Fallin’ In Love” [previously unreleased track]
15 “Time To Get Alone” [new stereo mix]
16 “Our Sweet Love”
17 “Help Me, Rhonda”
18 “Keep An Eye On Summer”
19 “Don’t Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)”
20 “Girls On The Beach”

Enter to win the Beach Boys goods here. And don’t forget, you still have a few days to enter the Korg Kaossilator giveaway.


Comments (5)
  1. XL-30  |   Posted on Jun 10th, 2009 0

    “Sunflower”is kind of their “Abbey Road”…I’m not saying the songs are as good but the singing,spirit and colors/production is equal… “All I Wanna Do” is SO summer and Panda Bear…

  2. The form on the giveaway page seems to be broken. The first set of radio buttons doesn’t register when submitted and so it rejects every time.

  3. Max Senesac  |   Posted on Jun 16th, 2009 0


  4. Marla  |   Posted on Jul 8th, 2009 0

    Love the Beach Boys!!! I’d love to win!!!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2