The compilation has an impressive lineup, but the circumstances around it are heartbreaking: Almost a year after his wife Melissa died suddenly, 21 artists have contributed exclusive tracks to Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy to help the former Miracle Legion front man continue making music while he raises his three-year old twin daughters. If you don’t remember that classic longstanding New Haven (and, early on, Rough Trade-associated) rock band, you might recall Mulcahy from his other group Polaris, who served as the house band on The Adventures of Pete & Pete. Since then, he’s released three solo albums under his own name — the last full-length was 2005′s In Pursuit Of Your Happiness. Anyhow, even if he’s new to you, he’s clearly written a number of songs that mean something to a number of people, as you’ll see via the collection’s tracklist.

01 Thom Yorke – “All For The Best” (CLICK HERE TO LISTEN)
02 The National – “Ashamed Of The Story I Told”
03 Michael Stipe – “Everything’s Coming Undone”
04 David Berkeley – “Loves The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up”
05 Dinosaur Jr. – “The Backyard”
06 Chris Harford & Mr Ray Neal – “Micon The Icon”
07 Frank Black – “Bill Jocko”
08 Vic Chesnutt – “Little Man”
09 Unbelievable Truth – “Ciao My Shining Star”
10 Butterflies Of Love – “I Have Patience”
11 Chris Collingwood (Fountains Of Wayne) – “Cookie Jar”
12 Frank Turner – “The Quiet One”
13 Rocket From The Tombs – “In Pursuit Of Your Happiness”
14 Ben Kweller – “Wake Up Whispering”
15 Josh Rouse – “I Woke Up In The Mayflower”
16 Autumn Defense – “Paradise”
17 Hayden -”Happy Birthday Yesterday”
18 Juliana Hatfield – “We’re Not In Charleston Anymore”
19 Mercury Rev – “Sailors And Animals”
20 Elvis Perkins – “She Watches Over Me”
21 Sean Watkins – “A World Away From This One”

Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy is out 9/29 via Shout! Factory. An additional 20 tracks from folks like A.C. Newman, Buffalo Tom and Laura Veirs will be released digitally. Also expect concerts to coincide with the release. One will take place in London, one in New York. More on that to come. The man’s original take on the title track’s over at his MySpace.

Comments (22)
  1. The music will be great, but the conversation is going to be a real buzz kill

  2. aware  |   Posted on Jun 25th, 2009 0


    Unbelievable Truth (the one who did the title track) is the former/on hiatus band of Andy Yorke, Thom Yorke’s brother.

  3. Matt   |   Posted on Jun 25th, 2009 0

    The Adventures of Pete & Pete!!!!!

  4. Evan  |   Posted on Jun 26th, 2009 0

    interesting fact. most of the music on pete and pete was done by the magnetic fields. soooo yeah how about that michael jackson?

    • matt  |   Posted on Jun 26th, 2009 0

      That’s not exactly true. Most of the music from Pete & Pete was done by Polaris, aka Mark Mulcahy’s tv band. There were only three Magnetic Fields’ songs on the show (The Flowers She Sent and the Flowers She Said She Sent, Why Cry, and Lovers from the Moon). Still Stephin Merritt’s side projects the 6ths and the Gothic Archies had songs in there as well.

      • Rich  |   Posted on Jul 25th, 2009 0

        Band was Scott Boutier and Dave McCaffrey from (Frank Black & The Catholics) and Ray Neal filling on guitar…

    • Yeah, what? There were a few Merritt songs used for sure, but the theme song, closing credits song, “Pete’s Song” (Summerbabe), and a good 10+ other songs were Polaris/Miracle Legion.

  5. One of the most overlooked singers/songwriters of our time. This is gonna be great.

  6. marcus  |   Posted on Jun 26th, 2009 0

    I cant wait for this. Miracle legion were totally incredible and just look at all those amazing bands covering songs.. its like every awesome band ever. Amazing news.

  7. This guy is way underrated, its about time he got his due. Its also encouraging to see other gum readers are fans. If you haven’t heard of him go buy his solo cds, any of them…you can download them too but that won’t put food on his poor daughters’ plates

    • Good post. I think some of his stuff is on emusic if people want to get a taste. The Adventures of Pete & Pete soundtrack is actually an excellent place to start.

  8. bill whalen  |   Posted on Jun 26th, 2009 0

    miracle legion was a great band..check it all out, cool cats to boot. contemporaries understand their impact. just another story of a great band lost to time.
    maybe thiss will get em their due, or at least soem cash in th epocket!
    more rock

  9. Tom  |   Posted on Jun 28th, 2009 0

    I remember Miracle Legion from New Haven. Another band who used to open for them, Andrew’s Gone, were really good. They have a few tracks on iLike. Check ‘em out…

  10. jocelyn  |   Posted on Jun 30th, 2009 0

    hooray for this. i can’t think of a musician more worthy. mark mulcahy and his music are amazing. of course i’ll snap this up and spread the word, but i also gotta say, none of these folks sound better than the man himself! but it’ll be interesting to see them try!

  11. I thought the whole mix and thoughts behind it were great. Ben Kweller and Thom Yorke were really great. David Berkeley’s track really stood out to me too. I had never really listened to him but he sounds good.

  12. The project is just great. I ‘ve never heard of any collaboration between Thom and Andy Yorke before. Songs are amazing. This is beautiful.

    Love from Dijon, France.

  13. The song makes me think of that New Order song that goes , ‘How does it feel..’.
    Oh sorry to hear someone has to live coping with the death of the person he loves.
    Always a joy, never the less, to see/hear Thom Yorke (*.*!!!) glad Andy is involved, he’s a nice brother.
    (Thom you’re pretty -:O!-)

  14. Capslock  |   Posted on Jul 24th, 2009 0

    Thom Yorke is a legend. Radiohead overshadow all the other bands combined.
    great job you guys!

  15. Bono  |   Posted on Aug 20th, 2009 0

    New Benefit show just announced for Sept 20th at Music Hall in Williamsburg…


  16. cooool

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2