The promotional campaign started with a preview trailer and classical music-dropping onscreen interview to whet folks’ appetites. Now that you’re plenty familiar with “11th Dimension,” take a listen to some snippets of the seven other tracks on the Strokes man’s solo debut … to further whet your appetite. It’s a bit difficult absorbing an album as a 4-minute-and-change collage — even in the age of ADD — but it’ll give you an idea.

Another way to follow along:

01 “Out of the Blue”
02 “Left & Right in the Dark”
03 “11th Dimension”
04 “4 Chords of the Apocalypse”
05 “Ludlow St.”
06 “River of Brakelights”
07 “Glass”
08 “Tourist”

Phrazes For The Young is out 11/3 via Cult/RCA. (Yes, that’s a new release date.) If you recall, other songs popped up live, but they disappeared before you had a chance to get too used to them.

Comments (27)
  1. Andrew  |   Posted on Oct 16th, 2009 0

    Hi doggy.

  2. like the sound of this. but there’s only 8 tracks on the album???

  3. jb  |   Posted on Oct 16th, 2009 0

    yeah hopefully the rest of the tracks are at least longer than 11th dimension. dunno how he couldn’t come up with more material for the album

  4. Drunk Jew  |   Posted on Oct 16th, 2009 0

    Mental retardation.

  5. Tim  |   Posted on Oct 16th, 2009 0

    The entire album is around 40 minutes long; each song hits around 5 minutes.

  6. Kip  |   Posted on Oct 17th, 2009 0

    8 songs hit me as strange at first. But really, why put two filler songs on there just to make it an album with 10 songs. This way it’s just the best.


  7. Man, this sounds great. Hope he left some juice for The Strokes new one. Or let Hammond write.

    And yes, I’d rather a short sweet LP than a bloated one.

    • Completely agree. Look at First Impressions of Earth–that album was about four songs too long. Some people freak out when an album isn’t 70 minutes long with 16 tracks. I’ve never understood that…for example, Is This It is a phenomenal ALBUM, and it’s only 36 minutes long!

  8. Springtime in Alaska  |   Posted on Oct 17th, 2009 0

    Of the people from 8 years ago I guess I most admire J.Black for moving to Nashville …must be hard to stay in touch once you’ve “made it”

  9. Drunk Jew  |   Posted on Oct 17th, 2009 0

    Ugh…this makes me sick…airing a promo as news…Stereogum, what’s wrong with you?!

    • MF McNutt  |   Posted on Oct 19th, 2009 0

      I don’t think Stereogum bills itself as the AP. People want to hear the new Julian Casablancas album even if it’s a series of snippets.

  10. toto  |   Posted on Oct 17th, 2009 0

    So many influences I’m hearing. The promo makes it sound like he just doesn’t stop singing.

  11. myself  |   Posted on Oct 17th, 2009 0

    The first song seems to be a copy of a French song called ‘la poupee qui dit non’ by Michel Polnareff, Are we gonna have a Satriani-Coldplay thing again? What happened with that by the way?

    Overall ,Seems very good

  12. Yay! i like the sounds, good sounds….and oh do i remember that voice. Still want my Strokes back, this is just like a teas till i get the real thing.

  13. A-Ok  |   Posted on Oct 17th, 2009 0

    12:51 is lets go out to the movies, Last nite is American Girl, this one is ripped off…

  14. A-Ok  |   Posted on Oct 17th, 2009 0

    Lret’s not forget rebel, rebel for 11th dimension

  15. FeeFi  |   Posted on Oct 18th, 2009 0

    that picture is so hipsterific that I just barfed in my mouth

  16. manchita  |   Posted on Oct 18th, 2009 0

    woohoo! can’t wait!

  17. p.  |   Posted on Oct 18th, 2009 0

    is this is? this is shit. that was truly awful. flock of seagulls on track 2. what a joke.

  18. Tourist is a real club banger.

  19. purple words  |   Posted on Oct 19th, 2009 0

    …now I find myself having back to vinyl fantasies that would have to include simple things like street hassle and emotional rescue just for those dumb throwaways that really work…audio nyc…chemistry is nothing to take for granted even if your great…

  20. ikidikid  |   Posted on Oct 19th, 2009 0

    River of Break Lights STROKES A?


  21. His master’s synth.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2