Liars - WIXIW

This summer, Liars will release their new album WIXIW, their follow-up to 2010′s Sisterworld. Pitchfork recently spoke to frontman Angus Andrew, and apparently, the new LP is more electronic and sample-based than anything they’ve done in the past. But leadoff track “No. 1 Against The Rush,” while it has a bit of an electronic sheen, fits very cleanly with the seasick art-rock the band has been doing for the past decade or so. To hear the song, head over to Soundcloud. We’ve got the album’s tracklist below.

01 “The Exact Colour Of Doubt”
02 “Octagon”
03 “No.1 Against The Rush”
04 “A Ring On Every Finger”
05 “III Valley Prodigies”
06 “WIXIW”
07 “His And Mine Sensations”
08 “Flood To Flood”
09 “Who Is The Hunter”
10 “Brats”
11 “Annual Moon Words”
(via Pitchfork)

WIXIW is out 6/5 on Mute.

Comments (11)
  1. As one of my favorite bands, I like the direction they’re going in here with the electronics, especially since they’ve made a career out of relying heavily on the drums, guitars or both. I really didn’t know what to expect from them going into this track after all the hype and build up surrounding the mysterious “idol” producer, but like last night’s once in a lifetime match-up between the Brahma Bull and the leader of Ce-Nation with The Rock coming out of nowhere with a match-ending Rock Bottom and Cena teasing a look of personality change, I realize the intrigue has just begun.

  2. Wow, this is very good. As Michael_ alluded to above, I was expecting a percussion-heavy electronic track with a tribal touch. Instead I found a warm, melodic song with a deep, glowing bassline. The arpeggiated brass synth at various points is almost reminiscent of Portishead’s “The Rip,” but this Liars track is not nearly as ominous. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. Colour me intrigued.

  3. this is awesome….so much better direction than their last couple records!

  4. Hate to be the first hater but being a big fan I’d have to say this was rather boring for a Liars song.

    • I’m not too big on this song.
      Hopefully the album has a few tracks to rock out to like Scarecrows On A Killer Slant or Overachievers.

  5. I’ve never liked these guys. Everyone of their albums sounds exactly the same. They never change it up and just keep doing the same thing over and over and never experiment.

    Liars… Liars Liars Liars.

  6. The album cover is either successful minimalism or completely failed eye chart.

  7. Siserworld consumed me. I loved it. I was a bit worried when I heard about sample based liars but all of the creepy sound trickery they are cooking up sounds like a natural evolution to me. I highly recommend checking out the sampling videos on their website.

  8. i rate this 8.5 out of 10 usher-climaxes

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2