Death Cab For Cutie with Magik* Magik Orchestra, Youth Lagoon @ Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles 5/7/12

Death Cab For Cutie are no strangers to playing with an Orchestra. Teaming up with the Magik* Magik Orchestra, Death Cab For Cutie worked through a twenty-four song set of Ben Gibbard’s self-described “baroque pop.” Some of the highlights included the acoustic interpretation of “405,” the string flourishes during Gibbard’s solo acoustic take on “I Will Follow You Into The Dark,” and the transcendental “Transatlanticism.” Youth Lagoon provided a hazy, keyboard-laden opening set. Check out the pictures above and the setlist below.

01 “Passenger Seat”
02 “Different Names For The Same Thing”
03 “A Movie Script Ending”
04 “Title And Registration”
05 “Grapevine Fires”
06 “Codes And Keys”
07 “Underneath The Sycamore”
08 “Little Fury Bugs”
09 “Death Of An Interior Decorator”
10 “You Are A Tourist”
11 “Bend To Squares”
12 “Hindsight”
13 “Cath…”
14 “No Joy In Mudville”
15 “What Sarah Said”
16 “Soul Meets Body”
17 “Stay Young, Go Dancing”
18 “Steadier Footing”
19 “405”
20 “I’ll Be Your Mirror (Velvet Underground Cover)”
21 “Monday Morning”
22 “I Will Follow You Into The Dark”
23 “Tiny Vessels”
24 “Transatlanticism”