Morrissey @ The Hard Rock Hotel, Las Vegas 12/4/09

With his recent on and just off-stage setbacks (and sundry fuck you’s), Morrissey live in 2009 is an especially tenuous prospect. Things were pretty uneventful when he hit the Joint at the Hard Rock Hotel in Las Vegas on Friday, though he did cancel the following night’s gig in Indio (reminiscences of Coachella’s roasting flesh, maybe?). As far as his Vegas trip, he didn’t offer an encore to cap the 17-song, hour-long set — the band went straight into “How Soon Is Now?” before the house fittingly offered up Sinatra’s “My Way.” That seems hardly worth a quibble at this point. Still, it’s hard knowing where Morrissey’s head is at these days… When introducing his band he noted: “I have no identity.” Speaking of which, the night opened with unsigned Brighton crew Doll & The Kicks. The intrepid Andrew Youssef caught it all.

01 “The Loop”
02 “I’m Throwing My Arms Around Paris”
03 “This Charming Man”
04 “Let Me Kiss You”
05 “If You Don’t Like Me, Don’t Look At Me”
06 “Black Cloud”
07 “Teenage Dad On His Estate”
08 “Cemetry Gates”
09 “Why Don’t You Find Out For Yourself?”
10 “One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell”
11 “Death At One’s Elbow”
12 “Ask”
13 “When Last I Spoke To Carol”
14 “Is It Really So Strange?
15 “Ganglord”
16 “Don’t Make Fun Of Daddy’s Voice”
17 “How Soon Is Now?”