Divine Fits – “Would That Not Be Nice”

With Wolf Parade on permanent hiatus and Handsome Furs broken up, Dan Boeckner found himself with some time on his hands. What better way to spend it than making a record with Britt Daniel from Spoon and Sam Brown from New Bomb Turks? The new band, the Divine Fits, premiered their first single, “My Love Is Real,” last week, and now they’ve shared a new song, as well as album details. The album will be called A Thing Called Divine Fits, and released on 8/28, via Merge. According to the band, the albums is “about 42-and-a-half minutes long. Alex Fischel plays keyboards like a madman all over it. (Roughly) half the tracks are lead-sung by Dan and half by Britt. Over the course of its 11 songs it covers such topics as the death of true love, hitchhiking, cocoa butter, emotional distance, what happens when the curtain drops, and Minneapolis, MN.” The new track released by the band, “Would That Not Be Nice,” features a lead vocal from Daniel over some spooky, cascading synths. Check it out below.

A Thing Called The Divine Fits tracklist here:
01 “My Love Is Real”
02 “Flaggin A RIde”
03 “What Gets You Alone”
04 “Would That Not Be Nice”
05 “The Salton Sea”
06 “Baby Get Worse”
07 “Civilian Stripes”
08 “For Your Heart”
09 “Shivers”
10 “Like Ice Cream”
11 “Neo-politans”