New Pornographers Together Details

Last time we checked in on the New Pornographers, we didn’t have many details about their anticipated Challengers followup. Now we do: The band’s fifth album, Together, comes out in early May. It was produced by the band with Phil Palazzolo and was put to tape in Vancouver, Brooklyn, Woodstock, and Catskill, New York. As far as the songwriting breakdown: Nine songs by A.C. Newman, three by Dan Bejar. The lineup: Newman, Bejar, John Collins, Neko Case, Kurt Dahle, Kathryn Calder, Todd Fancey and Blaine Thurier. In addition to the eight-person core lineup, there are guest spots from Annie Clark, Zach Condon, Will Sheff, the Dap-Kings Horns, etc. So far we don’t have any sounds from it, but you can look more closely at the album art if you want.

The band’s new website includes a bunch (i.e. almost 100) of photos from the recording sessions. Spot Bejar behind the piano, etc. Matador says an MP3 and pre-order info will arrive soon.

Together is out 5/4 via Matador. As a reminder, Newman’s part of the Bell House Haiti Benefit we mentioned at the end of today’s Sondre Lerche post.