Bloc Party @ Apogee’s Berkeley Street Studio, Santa Monica 8/1/12

Gearing up for the release of their fourth album aptly entitled Four, Bloc Party stopped by Apogee’s Berkeley Street Studio for a taping of a KCRW session that will air on August 15th. KCRW Music director Jason Bentley interviewed the band and described the album as “metal.” This shouldn’t come as a surprise since Kele Okereke said the Deftones’ White Pony was an influence when writing the album. Ten of their eleven song set were all new songs revealing that influence as songs like “Kettling” and “Coliseum” had some detuned guitars with some loud and soft dynamics. Check out Russell Lissack’s monstrous pedalboard in the pictures above and setlist below.

01 “So He Begins To Lie”
02 “3×3″
03 “Octopus”
04 “Real Talk”
05 “Kettling”
06 “Coliseum”
07 “Black Crown”
08 “Day 4″
09 “Team A”
10 “Truth”
11 “This Modern Love”

Tags: Bloc Party