Six Organs Of Admittance – “One Thousand Birds”

On last year’s Asleep On The Floodplain, Ben Chasny was primarily in an acoustic, homespun mode. This summer’s Ascent sees the guitarist content to leave Floodplain behind in a plume of fog and flame, as per the previously posted “Waswasa” and today’s “One Thousand Birds.” Six Organs has revved itself into a fiery, solo-saturated rock that’s wah-wah-drenched psychedelic and propulsively riffed. Chasny’s joined by several Comets ON Fire mates here, and they’re put to good use. Hear “One Thousand Birds”:

Ascent is out 8/12 via Drag City.

01 “Waswasa
02 “Close To The Sky”
03 “They Called You Near”
04 “Solar Ascent”
05 “A Thousand Birds”
06 “Your Ghost”
07 “Even If You Knew”
08 “Visions (From Io)”