David Byrne & Fatboy Slim – “Here Lies Love” (Feat. Florence Welch)

“Here Lies Love” is the scene-setting title track from David Byrne and Fatboy Slim’s post-BPA Imelda Marcos concept album. As we’ve mentioned, each track on the 2-CD collection features a different guest vocalist — basically a number of accomplished female vocalists and Steve Earle. (That, and Byrne plays the “American Troglodyte,” duets with My Brightest Diamond, etc.) Our last taste of Here Lies Love came via Santigold putting her distinctive stamp on “Please Don’t.” This time Florence Welch of Florence + The Machine gives it a buoyant go with the dramatic, upbeat opener.

(Via P4K)

If you’re curious about why they’re focusing on Marcos, Byrne explains it in the album’s introduction:

The story I am interested in is about asking what drives a powerful person–what makes them tick? How do they make and then remake themselves? I thought to myself, wouldn’t it be great if–as this piece would be principally composed of clubby dance music–one could experience it in a club setting? Could one bring a ‘story’ and a kind of theater to the disco? Was that possible? If so, wouldn’t that be amazing!

The tracklist:

Disc 1
01 “Here Lies Love” (Vocal by Florence Welch)
02 “Every Drop Of Rain” (Vocals by Candie Payne & St. Vincent)
03 “You’ll Be Taken Care Of” (Vocal by Tori Amos)
04 “The Rose Of Tacloban” (Vocal by Martha Wainwright)
05 “How Are You?” (Vocal by Nellie McKay)
06 “A Perfect Hand” (Vocal by Steve Earle)
07 “Eleven Days” (Vocal by Cyndi Lauper)
08 “When She Passed By” (Vocal by Allison Moorer)
09 “Walk Like A Woman” (Vocal by Charmaine Clamor)
10 “Don’t You Agree?” (Vocal by Róisín Murphy)
11 “Pretty Face” (Vocal by Camille)
12 “Ladies In Blue” (Vocal by Theresa Andersson)

Disc 2
01 “Dancing Together” (Vocal by Sharon Jones)
02 “Men Will Do Anything” (Vocal by Alice Russell)
03 “The Whole Man” (Vocal by Kate Pierson)
04 “Never So Big” (Vocal by Sia)
05 “Please Don’t” (Vocal by Santigold)
06 “American Troglodyte” (Vocal by David Byrne)
07 “Solano Avenue” (Vocal by Nicole Atkins)
08 “Order 1081″ (Vocal by Natalie Merchant)
09 “Seven Years” (Vocals by David Byrne & Shara Worden)
10 “Why Don’t You Love Me?” (Vocals by Cyndi Lauper & Tori Amos)

Hear Lies Love is out 2/23 via Todomundo/Nonesuch. As a reminder, the deluxe edition includes the two CDs, a 100-page hardcover book, and a DVD. Look into pre-orders, if you’d like. You can download the above track for an email at davidbyrne.com.