Brian Eno & David Byrne Let Us Know Everything That Happens Will Happen Today

Brian Eno & David Byrne Let Us Know Everything That Happens Will Happen Today

We previously reported David Byrne and Brian Eno were going to collaborate on their first studio material since 1981’s My Life in the Bush of Ghosts. Turns out we weren’t lying. The new one Everything That Happens Will Happen Today comes out in August, after a year of writing, recording, and intercontinental travel. We have a bunch of details about the 11 new songs and a related Byrne-piloted tour. Some come straight from DB’s mouth.

Everything That Happens… is less a collage than the duo’s previous effort of some 27 years ago and more a collection of songs. Whereas Bush Of Ghosts incorporated the contributions of 11 additional musicians along with a variety of “found” voices — ranging from radio talk-show hosts to Lebanese mountain singers — this latest recording almost exclusively features Byrne’s lyrics and voice alongside Eno’s various electronic tracks. “When we started this work, we started to think we were making something like electronic gospel: a music where singing was the central event, but whose sonic landscapes were not the type normally associated with that way of singing,” says Eno. “This thought tapped into my long love affair with gospel music, which, curiously, was inadvertently initiated by David and the Talking Heads.”

Byrne’s taking it on the road from fall ’08 through early ’09 as the “David Byrne, Songs of David Byrne and Brian Eno” tour, where he’ll focus on the new material as well as past collaborations with Eno (including some Talking Heads tunes). Here he is talking about it:

This is the Everything track list:

01 “Home”
02 “My Big Nurse”
03 “I Feel My Stuff”
04 “Everything That Happens”
05 “Life Is Long”
06 “The River”
07 “Strange Overtones”
08 “Wanted For Life”
09 “One Fine Day”
10 “Poor Boy”
11 “The Lighthouse”

As far as taking a listen, there’s a free preview download beginning 8/4. The collection itself will be self-released as a stream/digital download on 8/18 via Eventually there’ll be an enhanced CD and a deluxe packaged CD with artwork by Stefan Sagmeister.

    more from News