Yo La Tengo – “Stupid Things”

It’s been three years since Yo La Tengo’s last album, Popular Songs, but the band has promised a new one in 2013, and they’re teasing us now with a 12″ single featuring an alternate version of one of the songs that will be included on that album. “Stupid Things” is a languid, gauzy, autumnal, beautiful piece of music, with Ira’s guitar loosely skating atop Georgia’s chugging beat; McNew’s billowing organ lifts the thing to the heavens. The vocal on this version (courtesy of Ira) is reportedly entirely different from the one that will appear on the new album. I don’t see how it can be much better than this, because this is pretty close to perfect. Check it out via Spotify embed below. Track list and more information on the contents of the 12″ after the jump.

Sharing side A with “Stupid Things” is a remix of the song by EYƎ of the Boredoms. On the flip is the full 12-minute instrumental version of the track. The 45 RPM vinyl is packaged in a heavy cardstock silkscreen sleeve, limited to 1500 numbered copies, and comes with an MP3 coupon. It’s out 10/2. Pre-order it here.

Yo La Tengo Stupid Things EP track list:
01 “Stupid Things”
02 “Stupid Things” (remix by EYƎ)
03 “Stupid Things” (original instrumental)

Tags: Yo La Tengo