Sufjan Stevens – “Christmas Unicorn”

It’s been rumored for a minute, but Sufjan Stevens has now officially announced that he’ll release another of his gargantuan Christmas music box sets next month. This one is called Silver & Gold: Songs For Christmas, and it includes 58 songs spread across five EPs, which comprise entries 6-10 in his years-running Songs For Christmas series. The National’s Aaron and Bryce Dessner and Arcade Fire’s Richard Reed Parry are among the contributors this time around.

The physical version of the box set will include a pretty ridiculous array of goodies, including temporary tattoos, a coloring book (check out a page below), an ornament, a poster, lyrics and sheet music, and Sufjan’s own psychedelic art. And Sufjan has also made public the last song on the set: A 12-minute epic called “Christmas Unicorn,” a bittersweet bit of personification that interrogates the very idea of Christmas while piling on the orchestral instrumentation and interpolating a bit of Joy Division’s “Love Will Tear Us Apart.” Listen below.

(via Pitchfork)

Silver & Gold: Songs For Christmas is out 11/13 on Asthmatic Kitty. You’ll find more details at its Bandcamp page.

Coloring book page:
Sufjan Christmas Coloring Book