Ducktails – “The Flower Lane”

Real Estate guitarist Matthew Mondanile has released three loose and languid albums under his Ducktails moniker — it’s not easy to make Real Estate seem energized by comparison, but Ducktails manages to pull it off. Ducktails’ fourth album — and first for new label Domino — The Flower Lane, will be released next January, but the album’s just-released title track is a bit more direct and structured than previous Ducktails music, surely the result of Mondanile working with other musicians in a real studio, instead of the one-man bedroom-ambient recordings that comprised the first three Ducktails albums. Mondanile delivers a dreamy vocal over rippling guitars; in many respects, the song shares Real Estate’s stoned, sun-bleached salt-airiness. In fact, it probably could have been included on the next Real Estate record, but I’m glad it’s not — I’m eager to hear a whole album of this from Ducktails. Check it out.

The Flower Lane tracklist:

01 “Ivy Covered House”
02 “The Flower Lane”
03 “Under Cover”
04 “Timothy Shy”
05 “Planet Phrom”
06 “Assistant Director”
07 “Sedan Magic”
08 “International Date Line”
09 “Letter Of Intent”
10 “Academy Avenue”

The Flower Lane will be released 1/29/2013 via Domino.