Soundgarden – “Non-State Actor”

One of the stupidest recent scenes in the increasingly unwatchable Sons Of Anarchy was set to “Been Away Too Long,” the first song to be released from Soundgarden’s first album in 16 years, King Animal. It kinda made me hate the song, to be honest (and I liked it before that!) and left me a little turned off by the whole Soundgarden comeback in general. So it’s good timing for the band to drop a second song from the LP. “Non-State Actor” has a more traditional structure than “Been Away Too Long,” a meaty hook, Kim Thayil and Chris Cornell sound pretty ferocious and fired-up … The band isn’t reinventing their sound in any way, but it was a pretty great sound to begin with. I’m back on board. Check it out.

King Animal tracklist:

01 “Been Away Too Long”
02 “Non-State Actor”
03 “By Crooked Steps”
04 “A Thousand Days Before”
05 “Blood On The Valley Floor”
06 “Bones Of Birds”
07 “Taree”
08 “Attrition”
09 “Black Saturday”
10 “Halfway There”
11 “Worse Dreams”
12 “Eyelid’s Mouth”
13 “Rowing”

King Animal is out 11/13 on Seven Four/Republic.

Tags: Soundgarden