Tim Hecker & Daniel Lopatin – “Intrusions”

Tim Hecker and Daniel Lopatin (aka Oneohtrix Point Never) have produced no shortage of brilliant work on their own, so while a collaboration between the two electronic composers is an intriguing concept, one questions the need for it. That question it seems, was at the heart of the project. According to Mexican Summer, the label behind the pair’s forthcoming album, Instrumental Tourist, “The studio meetings between Hecker and Lopatin were conducted to mimic the tropes and techniques of jazz-based improvisation, with little preparation prior. In an era where electronic production can produce the totalities of symphonic effect, and solo sound composition is easier than ever, the necessity of collaborative work is questioned. Could their own respective artistic pursuits be neatly compiled and encapsulated by the very sound bank paradigm that they’ve exploited? Why work together at all?” “Intrusions” is the second track we’ve heard from Instrumental Tourist (“Uptown Psychedelia” dropped in September) and I think the music provides a fairly compelling answer to the question. Check it out.

01 “Uptown Psychedelia”
02 “Scene From A French Zoo”
03 “Vacinnation For Thomas Mann”
04 “Instrusions”
05 “Whole Earth Tascam”
06 “GRM Blue II”
07 “GRM Blue III”
08 “Racist Drone”
09 “Grey Geisha”
10 “Instrumental Tourist”
11 “Ritual For Consumption”
12 “Vaccination”

Instrumental Tourist is out 11/20 on the new Software Recording Co. imprint SSTUDIOS, which will focus on collaborations like this one.