The Flaming Lips The Terror Details

UPDATE: We’ve got The Terror’s tracklist below. Also, “Sun Blows Up Today” will apparently show up in a Super Bowl commercial, which go Ravens.

The Flaming Lips have been in the news lately, but often it’s been for obnoxiously attention-grabby reasons. So it’s good to hear that they’re now returning to the business of releasing intense, freaked-out albums. Pitchfork reports that their new album The Terror, produced by the band and frequent collaborator Dave Fridmann. is set to arrive 4/1 on Bella Union/Warner Bros. (There’s also a non-album track called “Sun Blows Up Today” coming 2/3. In a press release, Wayne Coyne calls the album a “bleak, disturbing record,” and writes, “WE were hopeless, WE were disturbed and, I think, accepting that some things are hopeless… or letting hope in one area die so that hope can start to live in another?? Maybe this is the beginning of the answer.”


01 “Look…The Sun Is Rising”
02 “Be Free, A Way”
03 “Try To Explain”
04 “You Lust”
05 “The Terror”
06 “You Are Alone”
07 “Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die”
08 “Turning Violent”
09 “Always There…In Our Hearts”
10 “Sun Blows Up Today” (digital-only bonus track)

This is good news. The band generally tends to work the best when they’re intense and focused. 2009’s Embryonic, the band’s last non-cover/non-collaborative studio album, is still a monster. Maybe this one will be, too.