Christopher Owens, Melted Toys @ Wilshire Ebell Theatre, Los Angeles 3/22/13

Modern day troubadour Christopher Owens recently kicked off a tour of the West Coast that stopped by the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles. The evening was full of flute, harmonica, saxophone, and the delicate finger-picking of a nylon string guitar as Owens worked through his debut solo album, Lysandre, in its entirety. Owens really showed off his chops with a five-song encore set of covers, the highlight being his rendition of “The Boxer.” Melted Toys opened the evening with a sugary blend of twee and shoegaze. Check out the photos in the gallery above and the setlist below.

01 “Lysandre’s Theme”
02 “Here We Go”
03 “New York City”
04 “A Broken Heart”
05 “Here We Go Again”
06 “Riviera Rock”
07 “Love Is In The Ear Of The Listener”
08 “Lysandre”
09 “Everywhere You Knew”
10 “Closing Theme”
11 “Part Of Me (Lysandre’s Epilogue)”
12 “Wild World” (Cat Stevens cover)
13 “Lalena” (Donovan cover)
14 “The Boxer” (Simon & Garfunkel cover)
15 “Let It Be Me” (The Everly Brothers cover)
16 “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” (Bob Dylan cover)