Parquet Courts – “You’ve Got Me Wonderin’ Now”

Late last year, the New York-via-Texas punk band Parquet Courts raged their way into our attention with their debut album Light Up Gold, a dizzy pileup of withering wordiness and breakneck hooks. They’ll follow it up this fall with a new EP called Tally All The Things That You Broke, and that EP’s opener is “You’ve Got Me Wonderin’ Now.” The song is a dour blast, like so many of the songs from Light Up Gold, and it’s got a tootling toy-flute solo that reminds me of the Troggs. They’d previously played it on World Cafe, but now they’ve shared the studio version. Listen to the song and check out the tracklist below.

01 “You’ve Got Me Wonderin’ Now”
02 “Descend (The Way)”
03 “The More It Works”
04 “Fall On Yr Face”
05 “He’s Seein’ Paths”
(via Pitchfork)

Tally All The Things That You Broke is out 10/8 on What’s Your Rupture?