Damon Albarn, Brian Eno, Nick Zinner Join Malian Musicians For Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes

When he hasn’t been busy with Gorillaz, or the Blur reunion, or his opera, Damon Albarn has spent a lot of time over the past few years working with African musicians. Last month, Albarn took a week-long trip to Bamako, Mali to record, and he brought an impressive group of Western musicians with him: Brian Eno, Yeah Yeah Yeahs guitarist Nick Zinner, Holy Other, members of Django Django and Metronomy, and a bunch of others. Together, they worked with Malian musicians and quickly put together a compilation called Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes, which will see a fast digital release next month. Below, check out the album’s tracklist, as well as a video for “Soubour,” a song that Zinner co-produced for the Timbuktu indie band Songhoy Blues.

01 Adama Koita – “Fantainfalla Toyi Bolo” (Prod. Two Inch Punch)
02 Songhoy Blues – “Soubour” (Prod. Nick Zinner & Remi Kabaka)
03 Ghostpoet – “Season Change” (Feat. Doucoura) (Prod. Two Inch Punch & Damon Albarn)
04 Bijou – “Dougoudé Sarrafo” (Prod. Damon Albarn)
05 Lil Silva – “Bouramsy” (Prod. Lil Silva)
06 Talbi – “Rapou Kanou” (Prod. Two Inch Punch)
07 Gambari – “Yamore” (Feat. Kankou Kouyaté) (Prod. Damon Albarn)
08 Yacouba Sissoko Band – “Chanson Denko Tapestry” (Prod. Brian Eno)
09 Lobi Traoré Band – “Deni Kelen Be Koko” (Prod. David Maclean)
10 Moussa Traoré – “Farafina” (Prod. Damon Albarn)
11 Tiemoko Sogodogo – “Latégué” (Prod. Brian Eno)

Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes is out 12/9 digitally on Transgressive.