Mirah – “Oxen Hope”

When last we heard from the Pacific Northwest singer-songwriter Mirah, she’d lined up with Thao Nguyen to form the duo Thao & Mirah; they released one self-titled 2011 album together. Mirah herself hasn’t dropped a solo album since 2009’s (a)spera, but she’s just announced that there’s one called Changing Light coming this spring. People like Mary Timony, Deerhoof’s Greg Saunier, Mount Moriah’s Heather McEntire, and Emily Wells contributed to the album. In a press release, Mirah calls the LP a “break-up record.” First single “Oxen Hope” has all the gorgeous float of Mirah’s older records, but the sentiment is all bitterness. Listen and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Goat Shepherd”
02 “Oxen Hope”
03 “Turned The Heat Off”
04 “Gold Rush”
05 “Fleetfoot Ghost”
06 “I Am The Garden”
07 “No Direction Home”
08 “24th St”
09 “LC”
10 “Radiomind”

Changing Light is out 5/13 on Mirah’s own Absolute Magnitude label, with support from K Records.

Tags: Mirah