Lone – “2 Is 8″

The British producer Lone makes warm, playful dance music that takes a lot of its rhythmic ideas from rap music. Last year, he made his mark with his album Galaxy Garden. Thus far this year, he’s already released his “AM Portal” single, and now he’s announced plans for a new LP called Reality Testing. He’s said that the album is influenced by Detroit techno and Chicago house, but “2 Is 8,” the first track that he’s shared, is really more of a sunny backpack-rap lope. Listen to it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “First Born Seconds”
02 “Restless City”
03 “Meeker Warm Energy”
04 “Aurora Northern Quarter”
05 “2 Is 8″
06 “Airglow Fires”
07 “Coincidences”
08 “Begin To Begin”
09 “Jaded”
10 “Vengeance Video”
11 “Stuck”
12 “Cutched Under”
(via Pitchfork)

Reality Testing is out 6/17 on R&S.

Tags: Lone