Interpol Announce New Album El Pintor

New York gloom-rock heroes Interpol have just announced plans to release their fifth album, titled El Pintor and set for a September release. We recently posted video of the band debuting new songs “My Desire” and “Anywhere,” and both of those tracks will be on the LP, which the band recorded at Electric Lady Studios and Atomic Sound. Interpol recorded the album with James Brown (the Arctic Monkeys producer, not the other guy), and shoegaze hero Alan Moulder mixed it. Paul Banks takes over bass duties on El Pintor, and guests include the Secret Machines’ Brandon Curtis, Roger Joseph Manning, Jr., and Bon Iver’s Rob Moose.

Below, check out the album’s tracklist and a three-minute making-of video that includes a few short shards of new songs.

01 “All The Rage Back Home”
02 “My Desire”
03 “Anywhere”
04 “Same Town, New Story”
05 “My Blue Supreme”
06 “Everything Is Wrong”
07 “Breaker 1″
08 “Ancient Ways”
09 “Tidal Wave”
10 “Twice As Hard”

El Pintor is out 9/9 on Matador, and its title is Spanish for “the painter.” (It’s also an anagram for the band’s name. There’s levels to this album-title shit.)

Tags: Interpol