The Gaslight Anthem Announce New Album Get Hurt

It doesn’t feel right to call New Jersey’s Gaslight Anthem a punk band anymore. Instead, in the wake of 2012’s deeply satisfying Handwritten, it makes more sense to call them one of the best straight-up no-qualifiers rock bands currently operating on a larger stage. The band has just announced plans for Get Hurt, album number five. They recorded this one in Nashville, and they’re claiming that it’s relatively stripped-down, though it’s not like this band has ever abused string sections or Mellotrons. The album will be out in a couple of months. In the meantime, check out the tracklist and a teaser video that features a bit of opening track Stay Vicious.

01 “Stay Vicious”
02 “1,000 Years”
03 “Get Hurt”
04 “Stray Paper”
05 “Helter Skeleton”
06 “Underneath The Ground”
07 “Rollin’ And Tumblin'”
08 “Red Violins”
09 “Selected Poems”
10 “Ain’t That A Shame”
11 “Break Your Heart”
12 “Dark Places”
13 “Sweet Morphine” *
14 “Mama’s Boys” *
15 “Halloween” *

* Deluxe edition bonus track

(via Clash Music)

Get Hurt is out 8/16 on Mercury.