The Juan Maclean – “A Place Called Space”

The Juan Maclean, one of the DFA label’s OG acts, started out as the old-school house-music solo project of the former Six Finger Satellite member John MacLean, and LCD Soundsystem’s Nancy Whang sang guest vocals on many of his tracks. But the project is now a full-on duo of MacLean and Whang, and to hear MacLean tell it, Whang is basically the star of the show now. They’ve just announced the release of In A Dream, their first proper album since 2009’s The Future Will Come, though they’ve steadily cranked out great singles like “Feel Like Movin’” and “Get Down (With My Love).” “A Place Called Space,” the album’s opening track, is an excellent eight-minute synth-disco zone-out that sounds like the sort of thing Giorgio Moroder hears when he dreams. It’s making me very, very excited about this album, and you can hear it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “A Place Called Space”
02 “Here I Am”
03 “Love Stops Here”
04 “You Were A Runaway”
05 “Running Back To You”
06 “I’ve Waited For So Long”
07 “Charlotte”
08 “A Simple Design”
09 “The Sun Will Never Set On Our Love”
(via Pitchfork)

In A Dream is out 9/16 on DFA.