Childhood – “As I Am” (Stereogum Premiere)

Childhood – “As I Am” (Stereogum Premiere)

Nottingham quartet Childhood plays translucent pop-rock that draws from various strains of classic UK music (shoegaze, baggy, indie pop) while sounding more futuristic than retro. “As I Am,” the latest single from their debut album Lacuna, is first and foremost a finely honed pop song, one that grooves and shimmers under its sighing neon sheen. Given how successfully it triggers the pleasure centers, you’ll likely have no problem taking them as they are. Do that below.

Lacuna is out 8/11 on House Anxiety/Marathon Artists. Tracklist:

01 “Blue Velvet”
02 “You Could Be Different”
03 “As I Am”
04 “Right Beneath Me”
05 “Falls Away”
06 “Sweeter Preacher”
07 “Tides”
08 “Solemn Skies”
09 “Chiliad”
10 “Pay For Cool”
11 “When You Rise”

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?