Christopher Owens – “Nothing More Than Everything To Me” Video & A New Testament Album Details

Christopher Owens - A New Testament

Christopher Owens – “Nothing More Than Everything To Me” Video & A New Testament Album Details

Christopher Owens - A New Testament

A year and a half ago, Christopher Owens, former frontman of the great San Francisco band Girls, went solo with his divisive debut album Lysandre. This year, he’s already thrown two absolutely stunning singles, “It Comes Back To You” and “Stephen,” out into the world. Today, we learn that those songs will both be on A New Testament, Owens’s second solo album, coming this fall. Owens recorded it with Lysandre producer Doug Boehm, and he says that it’s “inspired by the fundamentals of American music — gospel, country, R&B.” He’s also unveiled a video for a new song, a sweet and brief love song called “Nothing More Than Everything To Me.” The actor Max Minghella directed the clip, which has Owens and his band playing at a middle school dance and soundtracking a young romance. Below, watch the video, check out the album’s tracklist, and read some words about the LP from Owens.

01 “My Troubled Heart”
02 “Nothing More Than Everything To Me”
03 “It Comes Back To You”
04 “Stephen”
05 “Oh My Love”
06 “Nobody’s Business”
07 “A Heart Akin The Wind”
08 “Key To My Heart”
09 “Over And Above Myself”
10 “Never Wanna See That Look Again”
11 “Overcoming Me”
12 “I Just Can’t Live Without You (But I’m Still Alive)”

Owens writes:

Every new album is a new testament.

It’s a testament to honest, earnest, simple songwriting — “three chords and the truth”, songs inspired by the fundamentals of American music — Gospel, Country, R&B, picking the songs for this record was exciting enough for me, because they’re some of the ones that speak to me the most, of my memories, real life experiences, my battles, my victories. But hearing the record actually take form and come to life was even more exciting than I imagined. The new ground we worked towards — playing with Ed Efira on pedal steel for the first time, all of it was an amazing experience.

This album is nothing if not a testament to the power of music, and to the musicians that made it — John Anderson, Darren Weiss, Makeda — who all helped make Father Son Holy Ghost what it is, Danny Eisenberg — who was introduced to me during the sessions for Broken Dreams Club and played again on Father Son Holy Ghost, this is now our third record together, and I think that’s what shows.

It’s also my third record with Doug Boehm, who’s always made me feel I had the help I needed when I needed it, and the support I needed when I felt strongly about sticking to an idea.

I could go on and on about all of these people — David Sutton, who I met recording Lysandre, just watching him play is such a pleasure. It’s the intensity with which all these musicians approach the songs that makes me so excited and proud to play with them again and again.

And the excitement, the joy, the sincerity, the craftsmanship, it’s all captured on this record. A new testament.

A New Testament is out 9/30.

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already disabled it? Click here to refresh.