Red Hot + Arthur Russell Tracklist Features Sufjan Stevens, Robyn, Blood Orange, Hot Chip, & More

For decades now, the Red Hot Organization has been raising money for AIDS awareness by putting together finely curated compilations, and their next one could be amazing. The forthcoming double-CD comp Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell pays tribute to Russell, the pioneering New York musician who died of AIDS-related causes in 1992. Russell was someone who did amazing work across genres — leftfield disco, minimal singer-songwriter stuff, oblique country — and he’s the sort of musician who other musicians speak of in muted tones, even when much of the world has no idea who he is. The compilation’s tracklist is a testament to how important he was, as some very high-caliber artists all contribute. The comp features interpretations from Sufjan Stevens, Robyn, Hot Chip, Blood Orange, Jose Gonzalez, Phosphorescent, Devendra Banhart, Cults, and many, many others. Check out the tracklist below.

01 Jose Gonzalez – “This Is How We Walk On The Moon”
02 Lonnie Holley – “Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun (Interlude)”
03 Robyn – “Tell You”
04 Hot Chip – “Go Bang”
05 Sufjan Stevens – “A Little Lost”
06 Lonnie Holley – “In The Light Of The Miracle (Interlude)”
07 Richard Reed Parry, Little Scream, Sam Amidon, Colin Stetson & Sarah Neufeld – “Keeping Up”
08 Liam Finn, Ernie Brooks & Peter Zummo – “This Love Is Crying”
09 Rubblebucket & Nitemoves – “Eli”
10 The Revival Hour – “Hiding Your Present from You”
11 Sam Amidon – “Lucky Cloud”
12 Devendra Banhart – “Losing My Taste For The Night Life”
13 Phosphorescent – “You Can Make Me Feel Bad”
14 Blood Orange – “Is It All Over My Face & Tower Of Meaning”
15 Scissor Sisters – “That’s Us/Wild Combination”
16 VEGA INTL. – “Arm Around You”
17 Oh Mercy – “Planted A Thought”
18 Lonnie Holley – “Hop On Down (Interlude)”
19 Cults – “Being It”
20 Richard Reed Parry – “Just A Blip”
21 Glen Hansard – “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face”
22 Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart”
23 The Autumn Defense – “Oh Fernanda Why”
24 Alexis Taylor – “Our Last Night Together”
25 Lonnie Holley – “The Deer In The Forest (Interlude)”
26 Redding Hunter – “Close My Eyes”

Also, here’s a behind the scenes video with Hot Chip from the “Go Bang” recording sessions.

Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell is out 10/21 on Red Hot/Yep Roc.