Flying Lotus’ You’re Dead! Will Feature Kendrick Lamar, Herbie Hancock, Snoop Dogg

When the visionary Los Angeles beat-mangler Flying Lotus got Thom Yorke and Erykah Badu to show up on his album Until The Quiet Comes a couple of years ago, that felt like a big deal indeed, even if their voices fully blurred into his expansive jazz-damanged dreamworld. And it’ll be interesting to see what happens when actual pop musicians, musicians not so used to disappearing into miasma, turn up on a FlyLo record. FlyLo recently announced that he’ll put out a new record called You’re Dead! this fall. And now, as Exclaim! points out, FlyLo has revealed a few of the album’s song titles and guests on Tumblr (along with gruesome album-themed Shintaro Kago artwork), and this looks like it will be a star-studded affair. One song, “Tesla,” has keyboards from jazz-funk legend Herbie Hancock. Another, “Dead Man’s Tetris,” will feature Snoop Dogg alongside FlyLo’s rapping alter-ego Captain Murphy. And most intriguingly, Kendrick Lamar will show up on “Never Catch Me,” which should make for a fascinating combination. Other song titles include “Theme,” “Turkey Dog Coma,” “Fkn Dead,” and “Cold Dead,” and there are more yet to be revealed.

UPDATE: Check out the full tracklist below.

01 “Theme”
02 “Tesla” [ft. Herbie Hancock]
03 “Cold Dead”
04 “Fkn Dead”
05 “Never Catch Me” [ft. Kendrick Lamar]
06 “Dead Man’s Tetris” [ft. Snoop Dogg and Captain Murphy]
07 “Turkey Dog Coma”
08 “Stirring”
09 “Coronus, The Terminator”
10 “Siren Song” [ft. Angel Deradoorian]
11 “Turtles”
12 “Ready Err Not”
13 “Eyes Above”
14 “Moment Of Hesitation” [ft. Herbie Hancock]
15 “Descent Into Madness” [ft. Thundercat]
16 “The Boys Who Died in Their Sleep” [ft. Captain Murphy]
17 “Obligatory Cadence”
18 “Your Potential / The Beyond” [ft. Niki Randa]
19 “The Protest”