White Sands – “The Wait” (Stereogum Premiere)

White Sands is a new project from Conan Roberts of Mazes, Male Bonding’s John Arthur Webb, and Sophy Hollington from Novella. The three East Londoners are releasing their debut 7″ in the fall and their lead single is “The Wait,” a muscular and snappy slice of catchy post-punk. The song channels an inner emptiness and apathy — “hide everything deep inside/ you won’t find anything/ holed away” — that manifests itself into a maddening earworm of a groove that circles around and around the same riff until you feel totally numb. Listen below.

White Sands’ debut 7″ will be out 10/6 via Art Is Hard.

Tags: White Sands