Songs: Ohia – “Ring The Bell – Working Title: Depression No. 42”

Songs: Ohia – “Ring The Bell – Working Title: Depression No. 42”

The late Jason Molina’s music continues to reach new weary hearts by way of Secretly Canadian’s reissue campaign. Following last year’s deluxe Magnolia Electric Company will be Didn’t It Rain, one of Songs: Ohia’s most treasured confessionals. As with the previous reissue, this one will be accompanied by a bonus disc of demos. Today the label shared one of those demos, an even starker early version of “Ring The Bell” that first emerged under the working title “Depression No. 42.” Below, open a window into a brilliant, sorrowful soul.

Didn’t It Rain: Deluxe Edition is out 11/11 on Secretly Canadian. Pre-order it here.


01 “Didn’t It Rain”
02 “Steve Albini’s Blues”
03 “Ring The Bell”
04 “Cross The Road, Molina”
05 “Blue Factory Flame”
06 “Two Blue Lights”
07 “Blue Chicago Moon”

01 “Didn’t It Rain”
02 “Ring the Bell, Working Title: Depression No. 42″
03 “Cross the Road, Molina, Working Title: Chicago City Moon”
04 “Blue Factory Flame”
05 “Two Blue Lights”
06 “Blue Chicago Moon”
07 “The Gray Tour, Working Title: Waiting It’s Whole Life” (later re-recorded for “The Grey Tower” 7-inch)
08 “Spectral Alphabet” (later re-recorded for Pyramid Electric Co.)

more from News

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?