Belle And Sebastian Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance Details

Belle And Sebastian teased their new album Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance a few weeks ago, and the official details have finally been announced. The record will be out on January 20th in the United States and on the 19th in Europe. It was produced by Ben H. Allen III, who has also worked with Gnarls Barkley, Animal Collective, and Raury. Matador says that the band “have brought a dance-party element (and a disco song about Sylvia Plath) into their gorgeous tales of sensitive souls navigating a world gone awry” and call it “the most inspired and wide-reaching album Belle And Sebastian have ever made.” Stuart Murdoch revealed in an interview that the album opens with a track called “Nobody’s Empire” that deals with his struggle with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. That’s the album art above, and you can check out the tracklist and some pictures of the deluxe edition below.

01 “Nobody’s Empire”
02 “Allie”
03 “The Party Line”
04 “The Power Of Three”
05 “The Cat With The Cream”
06 “Enter Sylvia Plath”
07 “The Everlasting Muse”
08 “Perfect Couples”
09 “Ever Had A Little Faith”
10 “Play For Today”
11 “The Book Of You”
12 “Today (This Army’s For Peace)”

The album will also come in a limited edition 4x LP with exclusive bonus tracks. Here are some previews of what that will look like:

B&S Deluxe Edition
B&S Deluxe Edition

Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance is out 1/20 in the United States and 1/19 in Europe via Matador.