Yo La Tengo Announce 20th Anniversary Painful Reissue, 30th Anniversary Shows

Even if their annual Hanukkah shows won’t be happening now that Hoboken haven Maxwell’s is closed, Yo La Tengo will still be doing a series of special concerts this December. 12/2 marks the band’s 30th anniversary, and to celebrate they’re playing a run of four shows — two in New York and one each in Washington and Philadelphia. So says Matablog, which also announced a one-year-late 20th anniversary reissue of Painful, generally considered YLT’s first classic record. Dubbed Extra Painful, it will be sold in deluxe double LP and double CD editions. The double vinyl also comes with a bonus 7″ that’s available as a digital download for those who purchase the CD. Here’s the breakdown:

01 “Big Day Coming”
02 “From A Motel 6″
03 “Double Dare”
04 “Superstar-Watcher”
05 “Nowhere Near”
06 “Sudden Organ”
07 “A Worrying Thing”
08 “I Was A Fool Beside You For Too Long”
09 “The Whole Of The Law”
10 “Big Day Coming”
11 “I Heard You Looking”

Extra Painful:
01 “Nowhere Near” (demo)
02 “From A Motel 6″ (live acoustic)
03 “Tunnel Vision” (unreleased instrumental demo)
04 “Sudden Organ” (demo)
05 “Smart Window” (unreleased Painful session)
06 “Big Day Coming” (live acoustic)
07 “Slow Learner” (unreleased demo)
08 “Double Dare” (demo)
09 “A Worrying Thing” (demo)
10 “I Heard You Looking” (live)

Shaker 7″:
A: “Shaker”
B: “For Shame Of Doing Wrong” [8-Track Version — the CD single contained a different version which is on the download coupon]

More details on the various formats, via Matablog:

1. Double LP + 7? + download coupon with extra tracks
2. Double CD + download coupon with extra tracks
3. Digital release is regular and bonus disc tracks, does NOT include download coupon bonus tracks

Disc 1: The original ‘Painful’ album (not remastered)
Disc 2: ‘Extra Painful’ – the bonus tracks
7″: “Shaker” / “For Shame Of Doing Wrong” — exact reproduction of the original single
Download coupon: all the album tracks + 15 additional extra bonus tracks

Packaging: Double LP + 7″ (in picture sleeve) with ephemera, photos, reproduction of original ‘band-aid’ sticker, the first ‘YLT Gazette’ in 14 years, liner notes by the band and semi-trusted advisers.

Disc 1: As on vinyl
Disc 2: As on vinyl
Download coupon: includes the 2 tracks from the “Shaker” 7″ as well as the 15 extra bonus tracks

Extra Painful is out 12/2 on Matador. If you pre-order the LP or CD version, you can win tickets to one of the 30th anniversary shows. Here’s YLT’s full live itinerary for the rest of the year, including several performances of their Sam Green collaboration The Love Song Of Buckminster Fuller.

10/29 State Theatre, Portland ME (Sam Green & Yo La Tengo The Love Song Of Buckminster Fuller)
10/30 Flynn Center, Burlington VT (Sam Green & Yo La Tengo The Love Song Of Buckminster Fuller)
11/07 Contemporary Arts Center, New Orleans LA (Sam Green & Yo La Tengo The Love Song Of Buckminster Fuller)
11/09 Fun Fun Fun Fest, Auditorium Shores, Austin TX
11/12 PuSh Festival, Vancouver BC (Sam Green & Yo La Tengo The Love Song Of Buckminster Fuller)
12/03 Town Hall, NY NY w/ Antietam (30th anniversary show)
12/04 Town Hall, NY NY w/ The Feelies (30th anniversary show)
12/05 9:30 Club, Washington DC w/ Lambchop (30th anniversary show)
12/06 Trocadero, Philadelphia PA w/ Antietam (30th anniversary show)

Tags: Yo La Tengo