Watch A Short Documentary On The Staves & Justin Vernon’s If I Was

English trio the Staves’ Justin Vernon-produced sophomore record will be out next year, and the band has shared a short documentary that gives a behind-the-scenes look at the recording process. The video was filmed on location at Vernon’s Eau Claire-based April Base Studios, where the album was recorded. “I became familiar with the Staves from an EP that was given to me by a friend, and a band that I play in live asked them to support us on a tour. When I heard the Staves singing, it’s literally like physiological … their sisterhood, their relation, and the combination of their voices is unlike anything I’ve ever heard,” Vernon said during the video. “Because I care about them so much, I wanted to invite them here, which seems like such a safe space for them to sprawl out their ideas and give them the runway and the tools and watch them grow into making a record.” Watch the video and look at the tracklist below.

If I Was tracklist:

01. “Blood I Bled”
02. “Steady”
03. “No Me, No You, No More”
04. “Let Me Down”
05. “Black & White”
06. “Damn It All”
07. “The Shining”
08. “Don’t You Call Me Anymore”
09. “Horizons”
10. “Teeth White”
11. “Make It Holy”
12. “Sadness Don’t Own Me”

The Staves’ If I Was is out 2/2 via Atlantic/Nonesuch. Their Blood I Bled EP is out now.